Motion detector

• 5 Replies

Offline dekorima

Motion detector
« on: July 01, 2010, 08:26:58 AM »
A customer want to know if we are able to deliver our panels with motion detectors. The idea is that whenever anyone passes the panel, the screen will start the playlist automatically.

I have been searching for some sort of usb-gadget that will send the same signal to the panel as for example pressing the space bar on a keyboard, deactivating the screensaver.

I have found several instructions on how to build a sensor, and how to program it. However I am no programmer and have few skills in electronics.  ;)

Does anyone here have any ideas or working solutions?

Help much appreciated.

Offline dekorima

Re: Motion detector
« Reply #1 on: July 02, 2010, 11:05:23 AM »
I have found a solution. In some ways it is better in others it's not.
I have found an application - "Media Zone Trigger". When combining this with a webcam the program displays a media file, when movement is detected inside a hotspot of your own choosing. I have just started testing it out, but here are my first experiences;

- It seems you can choose multiple hotspots, and choose different mediafiles to be triggered to the different hotspots (or a combination of hotspots?).
- sensitivity can be adjusted
- It can, as far as I can see, only display images and movies.
- 1 license is for 1 computer only, making it rather expensive at 250$ per license.
- It will not work when there's no light. This could be useful for displays facing streets.

Offline EricL

• SuperHero & MegaGuru
« Reply #2 on: July 02, 2010, 11:23:22 AM »
Hi, I have heard of a similar system that is used to trigger ads when a person passes a screen but I cannot recall what it was called  :-\