Clients Display But Are 'Disconnected'

• 5 Replies

Offline phil2415

Clients Display But Are 'Disconnected'
« on: April 27, 2011, 10:34:51 AM »
Hi there,

I've been using MagicInfo for a couple of years now, and MagicInfo-i for about half that time.  I've always found it to be a bit of a dark art!  Anyway, I have a strange problem with it.

We have four screens connected to the MagicInfo-i server.  They all display their content correctly and the content changes when I update it, etc.  However, in the server console they all show up as 'Disconnected'.  In the top-right corner of the screen, where there is a summary of the screen statuses, they all show as 'Off'.  Whatever page in the server console I look at they screens appear not to be connected at all.

If I VNC to one of the screens (using my own VNC viewer, not the one built into the server, since that won't let me!) and go into the Player Settings, all of the settings under the Server tab seem to be correct, but there is a message at the bottom saying 'Not connected to the server!'.  I've rebooted the screens a couple of times but this message persists.

So what am I doing wrong?  Clearly the screens are connected in some way because they're displaying content correctly, so why is every other indication that they aren't connected to the server?

Any help gratefully received!

Offline HZM

• Major Guru
Re: Clients Display But Are 'Disconnected'
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2011, 04:18:06 PM »
Hi there,

I've been using MagicInfo for a couple of years now, and MagicInfo-i for about half that time.  I've always found it to be a bit of a dark art!  Anyway, I have a strange problem with it.