DIGITAL SIGNAGE SUPPORT FORUM

Digital Information Displays (Digital Signage) => MagicInfo-I => Topic started by: m.mirean on January 12, 2010, 12:23:40 PM

Title: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: m.mirean on January 12, 2010, 12:23:40 PM
Hi,

I have a little problem. I tryed to install MagicInfo-i on a Back Box, all ok until I tried to conect it to the content server, with the browser it's all ok but the MpMain icon is still gray (the server configuration is the same made on a monitor with network card on it; it works). Any ideeas?

Thank you

PS: Sorry for my english. :)
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Bill Coral on January 24, 2010, 08:25:29 AM
Maghicinfo I works ok on SBB. It must be another setting that you need to sort out. Where is the server? On a LAN?

Bill
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: m.mirean on January 25, 2010, 01:23:10 AM
Yes, the server is on the lan but the SBB does not conect. I checked all the settings but nothing.
ps: the same setting works with a 400UXn
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Bill Coral on February 10, 2010, 12:47:45 PM
Ok, there must be something on the LAN or your setup within your network, but you need to provide more information in order to be able to help you. It just doesn't work is not enough I am afraid! The forum needs some reference point to start helping you. I am not saying there is anything wrong with your LAN, though. Is this for Magicinfo I or Magicinfo pro?

Bill
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: PC Wizard on July 15, 2010, 07:12:04 PM
I have had a similar experience, so I'm wondering if there was ever a resolution to this problem.  Same situation with MagicInfo-i .... MagicInfo Pro worked fine on the exact same equipment, but MagicInfo-i won't seem to connect the player and the server.  Both machines are on the same subnet (10.x.x.x) and I have tried this with both static IPs and DHCP.  I have uninstalled and re-installed both client and server more times than I can count, tried FTP port 7521 instead of the standard 21, you name it, I may have tried it.  I can access the server at http://localhost:7001/MagicInfo and I can also access it from the client at http://serverIP:7001/MagicInfo.  I can ping the server from the client and the client from the server, so I don't think the network is the problem.  Any other ideas?

Paul Newman
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Chris Tout on August 23, 2010, 03:21:48 PM
We have just done the same thing at Brixham College.  Removed the Magicinfo Pro software and installed Magicinfo-I Standard.
Servers running on a VM, and appears to function fine (can publish from the author and access the web interface).

I've installed a client on a SBB-NT (black box) but I cannot get it to communicate with the server.

Have you had any luck getting it to work on an SBB-NT?  I've not tried it on the 3 large Samsung screens we have...
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Chris Tout on August 24, 2010, 03:42:19 PM
Looks like I have found the reason (after communicating with Samsung),

The SBB-NT only works with MagicInfo-I if it's connected to a Samsung LFD (Like the 460MX-2 or 650TS).
I guess the fact that it works on a 3rd party screen with the older MagicInfo Pro software was just an oversight...

Pity.
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: mikeb on September 02, 2010, 12:04:53 PM
Thanks all for your posts - great to find a useful resource and an explaination of what I was seeing. Just to confirm the behaviour I've seen here:

1. SBB-NT plugged up via RGB to a standard desktop monitor, MagicInfo-I refuses to connect to server
2. Move SBB-NT to Samsung LFD plugged in via HDMI, connects to server, behaves as normal
3. Move SBB-NT back to desktop monitor, no connection
4. Repeat step 2 just to check not going nuts - works perfectly

The client I'm working for had bought seven of these to drive legacy displays moved from their old building.

The SBB-NT only works with MagicInfo-I if it's connected to a Samsung LFD (Like the 460MX-2 or 650TS).
Chris, I assume Samsung said this is by design? i.e. no way around it other than to switch everything back to MagicInfo Pro? (which would be an immense pain with 37 screens already configured with MagicInfo-I)

Now to break the bad news...  :(


Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Chris Tout on September 02, 2010, 12:16:06 PM
To quote from my email corrospondence: - "This feature has been built into Samsung LFD and Samsung MII software. When the MagicInfo mode is turned on, then only the screens are detected. Otherwise, the screens are dummy monitors. This prevents misuse of MII software on 3rd party screens."

I was talking to Kartikay Malhotra <kartikay.m@samsung.com>.

Sorry that this isn't what you wanted to hear! :(
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: mikeb on September 03, 2010, 10:51:00 AM
Sorry that this isn't what you wanted to hear! :(

Not your fault Chris - no apologies necessary! :) Appreciate the contact, I'll follow up with Samsung and see where I can get to on this... I'll feed back on here if I have any joy.
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Chris Tout on September 03, 2010, 11:37:20 AM
Good luck mikeb! 8)
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Bill Coral on September 04, 2010, 08:15:14 AM
The SBB unit works fine for my MagicInfo I test bed. I am able to communicate with the webserver and also publish content. I think what the previous posts actually mean is that the SBB box has control functionality through what Samsung call MDC - Multi-Display-Control in that you can turn the screen ON, OFF, increase/decrease volume etc. For this to work, you need to have a Samsung MXn type or device and connect it through the HDMI port. This port within the Samsung Display has the capability in controlling the Display, but only if it is a Samsung product.

I asked Samsung about other Displays (like the DXn range) but they said the MDC functionality through the network and HDMI is only done for the MXn range.

Bill
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Chris Tout on September 06, 2010, 09:08:18 AM
So you need a supported Samsung product connected via HDMI - and then you can connect other devices up?

Too bad we don't have any Samsung products that would do the trick!
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Bill Coral on September 22, 2010, 12:51:59 AM
You can connect the SBB to another monitor through HDMI or VGA. What I am saying is that you will not have control over these monitors, for example turning them off and on, adjust volume etc. Remember through the HDMI interface you can use digital signals for control and only the Samsung MXn type of monitor can interprete them as they have build algorithns within the Samsung monitors.

If you want to control your non-Samsung monitors, and pressuming there are professional monitors and not TVs, you can connect them via RS232 interface and get the RS232 codes from Samsung. Otherwise I can post them to you. Let me know.

Bill
Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Leland on April 29, 2013, 01:08:20 AM
Hi Bill,

I know this is a very old post but I would like to clarify if this is still true.

If i have a Samsung SBB (SIM/PIM) with Windows Embedded can I run Magicinfo i-Premium on them with none Samsung screens such as LG that are attached via VGA/HDMI? but just don't have control over the screens controls? like on/off volume,ect?

Or must it be a Samsung screen attached to work? I have few SIM/PIM modules I would like to deploy with none Samsung screens I have in the office.

Thank you

Title: Re: MagicInfo on a SBB
Post by: Bill Coral on May 27, 2013, 05:51:23 PM
Apologies, I have been on business trip for sometime...

Yes, the SBB and PIM units (PIM is the new OPS product that only fits to few Samsung Screens) will only work on Samsung Screens (LFDs - Large Format Displays). PIM gets it's power and video/audio signals from the screen itself. Only the ME65, ME75, the DExx products will accept the PIMs. All others have to use SBB I am afraid. Things do change and the SBB had a power supply and the DP to HDMI provide the digital signals for the Samsung API to control the screen. You need to use the RS232 port if you wanted to control a non-Samsung screen.

Bil