Chipset used in 400EXn screens?

  • 6 Replies
  • 2665 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

*

Offline Racky2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 6
  • 2
Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« on: October 13, 2010, 02:15:48 PM »
Does anyone know which graphics card / motherboard chipset is used by the embedded PC of a 400EXn screen? (or any other screens in the Samsung range)

I want find out it's capabilities for native application development, but this information doesn't seem to be documented anywhere...

All I know so far is that it runs Windows Embedded Standard 2009, which I'm currently testing under virtualisation.

Thanks!

DIGITAL SIGNAGE HELP AND SUPPORT

Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« on: October 13, 2010, 02:15:48 PM »

*

Offline London-I

  • Moderator
  • Hero Guru
  • *****
  • 117
  • 22
  • FLY ME!
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #1 on: October 15, 2010, 09:37:39 AM »
The screens we have appear to be fitted with either AMD Athlon 64 Dual Core 4300+ or AMD Athlon Dual Core BE-2300 if that's any help.

*

Offline Racky2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 6
  • 2
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #2 on: October 15, 2010, 10:02:43 AM »
Thanks for that! Unfortunately due to the way most embedded systems work these days the CPU itself has very little to do with the multimedia performance. All the video decoding work is usually handed off to the graphics card's GPU, which is better suited to this kind of task... Finding out which GPU these screens are using is therefore key to knowing what they're capable of.

If I had access to a screen myself I'd run 'dxdiag.exe' (which should be already be installed as part of Windows) and export all the system information to a text file.

Don't suppose you've got time to give it a try for me???  ;)

*

Offline London-I

  • Moderator
  • Hero Guru
  • *****
  • 117
  • 22
  • FLY ME!
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010, 11:52:38 AM »
Here you go-rename to DxDiag.txt :-)

DIGITAL SIGNAGE HELP AND SUPPORT

Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #3 on: October 15, 2010, 11:52:38 AM »

*

Offline Racky2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 6
  • 2
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #4 on: October 15, 2010, 12:53:36 PM »
Fantastic! Thank you so much!!! Ok, lets look...

CPU = AMD Athlon X2 BE-2300 with 512MB RAM.
GPU = ATI Radeon x1270 with 128MB RAM (and HyperMemory support).

Not bad, pretty much like a Dell Inspiron 1526...

Looks like it support DirectX 9.0b, so it might just scrap Aero support under Windows 7 embedded.

Is this from a 1920x1080 screen? It seems to suggest you're only running at 1366x768 with a maximum supported resolution of 1600x1200.

*

Offline London-I

  • Moderator
  • Hero Guru
  • *****
  • 117
  • 22
  • FLY ME!
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #5 on: October 15, 2010, 01:57:49 PM »
From a 400 DXn

The ones we have run at 1366x768 (native resolution).

One thing to consider is the solid state memory size - on these screens it is only 4 Gb-not sure about the 400 EXn..

*

Offline Racky2

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 6
  • 2
Re: Chipset used in 400EXn screens?
« Reply #6 on: October 15, 2010, 02:36:05 PM »

Ah, that'll explain the resolution! Wonder if they upped the GPU for the EX range??? I think they now come with 80MB harddisks too.

The 4GB limit isn't too bad though. My Hyper-V server is running a VM with Windows Embedded Server 2009 installed, the whole OS comes to about 450MB!

In fact, I once built a full version of XP which came in at about 600MB. The rest is just screensavers, pictures, and junk... Checkout nLite on Google.