Screen switches itself off

  • 14 Replies
  • 7712 Views

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Screen switches itself off
« on: September 02, 2010, 10:58:44 AM »
Hi,

We're using MagicInfoPro with 4 Samsung 460UXN 46" LCD Display Black Bezel LH46MRTLBC/EN screens.

The 4 screens run on slightly different schedules, but are otherwise set up identically in MagicInfoPro. However, since the installation a fortnight ago, one of the screens has been turning itself off every 10 to 40 minutes which I then have to manually or remotely power back on.

If I stop MagicInfoPro from running on the screen then it stays on, so it looks like it's the software that's making it switch off. Has anybody had this problem before? Is there a setting hidden away in MagicInfoPro that I might be missing that's making it do this?

Thanks,

Tom

*

Offline HandyMAN

  • Major Guru
  • **
  • 11
  • 4
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2010, 11:12:22 AM »
Hi Tom

What versions of MagicInfo Pro are you running on your desktop PC/server and the 4 x Clients.
You can find out using the MagicInfo Pro on your PC - Remote Management - System. The MagicInfo version installed on the screens will be displayed on the righ hand information panel.
Also - Help - About MagciInfo Pro will report the PC version.

I assume you have also checked the schedule settings for each screen.
How long have you scheduled each screen to run, 1 x week, or month, or year ?

Regards

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #2 on: September 02, 2010, 11:34:02 AM »
On the server - 2506.0
On the screens - 3002.0

Each screen is scheduled to run for a month.

The screen we're having the problems with has a slightly different schedule in that it's scheduled to display a different screen layout at lunchtime (the other screens display the same all day, every day at the moment), but the problem still occured before I set it to do this.

Thanks!

*

Offline mrmrva

  • SuperHero & MegaGuru
  • ******
  • 90
  • 22
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #3 on: September 02, 2010, 07:51:33 PM »
Did you check temps on problematic display? Maybe it is overheating for some reason.

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #4 on: September 03, 2010, 08:21:18 AM »
Temps are fine. It only turns off when the MagicInfo Pro software is running - I just can't work out what's causing it to do it though.

*

Offline Bill Coral

  • SuperHero & MegaGuru
  • ******
  • 379
  • 87
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #5 on: September 04, 2010, 08:23:23 AM »
Check in the OSD menu (On-Screen-Display) with your remote controller in case your dealer has set up a TIME function. But it puzzles me that when MagicInfo pro client is off, the Display is still running. Strange...

Bill

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #6 on: September 06, 2010, 08:38:53 AM »
Already tried that one without any success.

Surely the only thing in the software that can turn the screens off (as in a power off - not just blanking the screen) is the on and off timer in remote management? Is there anything else that I should be looking at to double check?

*

Offline mrmrva

  • SuperHero & MegaGuru
  • ******
  • 90
  • 22
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #7 on: September 07, 2010, 11:58:04 AM »
Very strange problem, did you try to delete everything from partition where your schedule and content are and then to republish?

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #8 on: September 08, 2010, 08:04:17 AM »
Yep, tried that too.

Samsung are due to come and have a look at the screen as it's under warranty, but they don't seem at all keen on doing so.

*

Offline fernt

  • Newbie
  • *
  • 9
  • 0
Re: Screen switches itself off
« Reply #9 on: September 09, 2010, 09:50:03 AM »
Solved - it's a common problem with the power supply. The reason it only seems to happen when the client software is running is that it triggers itself off when the CPU reaches a certain load.

Thanks for the suggestions anyway!